Loebner Prize Contest 2003 'Can machines think?' - Alan Turing, 1950

The Contest


The Loebner Prize Contest in Artificial Intelligence was established in 1990 by Hugh Loebner and was first held at the Boston Computer Museum in 1991. The Loebner Prize Medal and cash award is awarded annually to the designer of the computer system that best succeeds in passing a variant of the Turing Test. In accordance with the requirements of the Donor (as published in the June 1994 Communications of the ACM) the winner of the $100,000 Gold Prize must be prepared to deal with audio visual input, and appropriate competitions will be held once Competitors have reached Turing's 50:50 likelihood level of being mistaken for a human. An intermediate Silver Prize of $25,000 will be offered for reaching this level in a text-only test. There is also an Annual Bronze Prize, currently $2,000, which is awarded to the designer of the "most human computer" as rated by a panel of judges.

2003 Finalists and Reservists

The original finalists were, in alphabetical order:

Three reservists were also selected:

In the event, one of the finalists was eliminated and replaced by Peter Neuendorffer's Gabber.

Our commiserations to the other entrants who did not qualify for the finals. We received over 20 entries, and the standard was very good, but unfortunately we could only accommodate eight entries (plus two human confederates) in the finals so it was inevitable that many entrants would be disappointed. We hope that they will try again next year.

The entries were judged by eight preliminary round judges, with each entry being assessed by at least three judges in accordance with the Official Rules. The judges ranged from students to retired people and included both men and women, located in the USA and the UK. The Chief Judge was Professor Nigel Gilbert, Pro-Vice-Chancellor of the University of Surrey.

The final results are now available, together with photographs and dowloadable transcripts of the judges' conversations.

Entering the Contest

Entries for the 2003 Contest closed on 30 June 2003. For reference, here are the relevant documents:

Official Entry Form

Official Rules

Logging Requirements

HTML Template

Specimen CGI Script

Winners of the Loebner Prize Contest, 1991-2003

1991 Joseph Weintraub
1992 Joseph Weintraub
1993 Joseph Weintraub
1994 Thomas Whalen
1995 Joseph Weintraub
1996 Jason Hutchens
1997 David Levy
1998 Robby Garner
1999 Robby Garner
2000 Richard Wallace
2001 Richard Wallace
2002 Kevin Copple
2003 Juergen Pirner

See our links page for the 1998–2003 winners' websites.

Steering Group

The Cambridge Center for Behavioral Studies has established a Steering Group to help and guide the management of the 2003 Contest. The Group initially comprises:

2004 Contest Announcement

Dr Hugh Loebner has announced that he will stage the next Loebner Prize Contest himself on 19 September 2004 in New York.
Dr Loebner's website